Información en Español


Two years ago, I was sent to a nursing home and I spent more than a year there. I was depressed. I felt like I was distanced from society. Thanks to the agency, I am able to live in my apartment. The agency has really made a difference in my life. I feel like I have almost erased my depression.
Elsa S., Client

You Can Make a Difference

Past Honorees

2018 Claude Pepper Award Honorees.

Lifetime Achievement Award 
The Hon. Bob Graham (2004) 
The Hon. Carrie P. Meek (2016)
Harve A. Mogul, President & CEO, United Way of Miami-Dade (2017) 
Elizabeth Dudek, Greenberg Traurig (2018)
Public Awareness/Media Award
Martha Flores (2004)
Thomas Garcia Fuste (2005)
Neighbors 4 Neighbors (2006)
Dr. Horacio Aguirre, Diario Las Americas (2007)
Angela G. Ramos, Univision (2008)
Jay Weaver, The Miami Herald (2009)
John Dorschner, The Miami Herald (2010)
Garth Reeves, Sr., The Miami Times (2011)
Michael Lewis, Miami Today (2012)
Cesar Conde, Univision Networks (2013)
Alexandra Villoch, Miami Herald Media Company (2015) 

Education/Advocacy Award
Eduardo Padron, Miami-Dade Community College (2005)
Modesto Maidique, Florida International University (2007)
Dr. Lori K. Parham, AARP Florida (2008)
Edwin Olsen, MD, JD, Miami Area Geriatric Education Center (2010)
Robert M. Levy, Robert Levy & Associates (2011)
Richard C. Milstein, Akerman Senterfitt (2012)
John A. Rock, MD, Florida International University (2013)
Jorge Luis Lopez, Esq., Jorge Luis Lopez Law Firm (2014)
Pascal J. Goldschmidt, MD, University of Miami Leonard Miller School of Medicine (2015) 
University of Miami Center on Aging (2017)
Dr. Sara Czaja, Ph.D., Dr. Dolores Perdomo, and Ph.D.,Chin-Chin Lee (2017)
Dr. Mark Rosenberg (2018)
Florida International University (2018)
Health Care Service Award
Dr. Victor Perez, Bascom Palmer Eye Institute (2011)
Innovator Award
George Fernandez, Ride2MD (2016)
Corporate Service Award (Healthcare and Non-healthcare)
United Way of Miami-Dade (1995)
University of Miami (1996)
Miami Herald Publishing Co. (1997)
Baptist Heath System (1998)
Vitas (1999)
The Miami Herald Wishbook (2000)
Mercy Hospital (2001)
Miami Jewish Home & Hospital (2002)
Florida Power & Light (2003)
Southern Wine & Spirits (2004)
CareFlorida (2004)
Alpha One (2005)
BellSouth (2005)
The Palace (2006)
DHL Express (2006)
George Foyo, Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Florida (2007)
Marvin O'Quinn, Jackson Health System (2007)
A. Alfonso Macedo, Ocean Bank (2008)
Benjamin Leon, Jr., Leon Medical Centers (2008)
Dennis Pastrana, Goodwill Industries (2009)
Kevin Kearns, Health Choice Network (2009)
Phillip R. Frost, MD, OPKO Health, Inc. (2010)
Antonio L. Argiz, Morrison, Brown, Argiz & Farra, LLC (2012)
Marc Buoniconti, The Miami Project to Cure Paralysis (2012)
Gladys Reed, BankUnited (2013)
Cesar L. Alvarez, Greenberg Traurig, LLP (2014)
Scott Cihak, Kendall Regional Medical Center (2014)
George Feldenkreis, Perry Ellis International (2014)
Rosa Cozad, Amerigroup (2015)
Lourdes T. Rivas, Amerigroup & Simply Healthcare Plans (2016) 
TD Bank, N.A. (2017)
Penny Shaffer, Florida Blue (2018)
Bacardi, U.S.A., Eduardo Cutillas (2018)

Public Service Award
Adele Graham (1995)
The Hon. Dante B. Fascell (1996)
The Hon. Rodolfo Garcia (1997)
E. Bentley Lipscomb (1997)
The Hon. Carrie P. Meek (1998)
John L. Stokesberry (1999)
The Hon. Mario Diaz-Balart (2000)
The Hon. Nancy Argenziano (2001)
The Hon. Dorrin Rolle (2002)
The Hon. Carole Green (2003)
The Hon. Dan Gelber (2003)
The Hon. Alex Diaz de la Portilla (2004)
The Hon. Alex Villalobos (2005)
The Hon. Marco Rubio (2006)
Mayor Carlos Alvarez, Miami-Dade County (2007)
Commissioner Bruno Barreiro, Miami-Dade County Commission (2007)
The Hon. Juan C. Zapata, State of Florida (2008)
The Hon. Ileana Ros-Lehtinen, U.S. House of Representatives (2009)
The Hon. Joe Negron, The Florida Senate (2010)
The Hon. Nan H. Rich, The Florida Senate (2011)
The Hon. Carlos A. Gimenez, Mayor of Miami-Dade County (2012)
The Hon. Anitere Flores, Florida Senate (2013)
The Hon. Rene Garcia, Florida Senate (2013)
The Hon. Eduardo "Eddy" Gonzalez, Florida House of Representatives (2014)
The Hon. Jeanette Nunez, Florida House of Representatives (2015)
The Hon. Roman Gastesi, Monroe County Administrator (2016) 
The Hon. Russell Benford, Deputy Mayor, Miami-Dade County (2017) 
The Honorable Esteban L. Bovo, Jr. (2018)
Commissioner - District 13 Miami-Dade County (2018)

Community Builder
The Hon. Bob Graham (2004)
Joe Arriola, City of Miami (2005)
“CACHAO” Israel Lopez (2006)
Otis Pitts, Peninsula Builders (2006)
Michael Aller, City of Miami Beach (2007)
Manuel Medina, Terremark Worldwide (2008)
Martin Fine & Pat P. Fine (2008)
Tere Zubizarreta, Zubi Advertising, Posthumous (2008)
Dr. Pedro Jose "Joe" Greer, Florida International University (2009)
Colonel Brodes H. Hartley, Jr., Community Health of South Florida (2010)
Nelson L. Adams, III, M.D., Metro-Miami Ob/Gyn Associates (2012)
Lydecker | Diaz, Attorneys & Counselors at Law (2013)
Phillis Oeters, Baptist Health South Florida (2014)
Javier Hernandez-Lichtl, West Kendall Baptist Hospital (2015)
Richard Alan Lehrman, Esq. (2016)
Florida Power & Light / NextEra Energy (2017) 
The Honorable Keon Hardemon (2018)
Commissioner - District 5 City of Miami (2018)

Thelma Gibson Volunteer & Community Service Award
Dr. Rosebud L Foster (1995)
Angel Fernandez-Varela (1996)
Geneva Miller (1996)
Thelma Gibson, RN (1997)
Octavio Verdeja (1998)
Hilarie Bass (1999)
Ramona Frischman (2000)
Athalie Range (2000)
Josefina Carbonell (2001)
Jorge L. Arrizurieta (2002)
Sheila Stieglitz (2003)
The Hon. Betty T. Ferguson (2004)
Anthony Brunson (2005)
Thelma A. Gibson, Theodore Gibson Memorial Fund (2007)
Dr. Rudolph G. Moise, Comprehensive Health Center (2008)
The Hon. Sally A. Heyman, Miami-Dade County Commission (2009)
Kevin E. Packman, Esq., Holland & Knight (2010)
Dr. Paul R. Ahr, Camillus House (2011)
Virginia Jacko, Miami Lighthouse for the Blind (2012)
Linda Quick, South Florida Hospital & Healthcare Association (2013)
Darryl K. Sharpton, CPA/ABV, Sharpton, Brunson & Company (2014)
Albert Dotson, Sr., Puryear (2015)
Max B. Rothman, J.D., Alliance for Aging (2016)
Gerald and Maya Greenberg (2017)
Juan and Maria Del Busto (2018)
The Del Busto Family Foundation (2018)

Active Living Award
Essie Faria, Gold Medalist, 2010 Senior Games (2011)
Luis Camps (2012)
United Flying Octogenarians, Florida Chapter (2013)
The Young Viejos Softball League (2015) 

35th Anniversary Pillar Award
Agency for Health Care Administration
Alliance for Aging, Inc.
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
Dade Community Foundation
Florida Department of Children & Families
Florida Department of Elder Affairs
Health Foundation of South Florida
Miami-Dade County
United Way of Miami-Dade

30th Anniversary Partnership Award
United Way of Miami-Dade (2004)

Philanthropic Contribution Award
Health Foundation of South Florida (2006)
The José Milton Foundation (2018)
Cecil, Frank, Joseph, and Ana Milton (2018)

Commemorative Award
Margaret Pericak-Vance, PhD, Research Innovation Award (2010)
Hyman Pinsky, Active Living Award (2010)

Claude D. Pepper National Merit Award
Val J. Halamandaris, National Association for Homecare & Hospice (2012)